January New Chapter Books for Grades 3–8

THE LAST FIREHAWK: THE GOLDEN TEMPLE by Katrina Charman. In this 9th installment, Tag, Skyla, and Blaze are on a new quest to find Blaze's family, and Thorn's twin brother, Claw (who claims to be nothing like his evil brother), has offered to guide them to the mysterious Golden Temple where the firehawks were last seen.

SPY SCHOOL: REVOLUTION by Stuart Gibbs   Because of his innate nerdiness, Ben is not surprised when he is recruited for a magnet school with a focus on science; but he’s entirely shocked to discover that the school is actually a front for a junior C.I.A. academy. Yes! Through a series of hilarious misadventures, Ben becomes a halfway decent spy; surviving all the attempts being made on his life and his romantic missteps.   In this 8th installment, Ben faces the Croatoan; a new (or old) evil organization so mysterious, the only proof it exists is from the American Revolution and secret papers of Washington and Jefferson. 

GOODBYE MR. TERUPT by Rob Buyea  The seven kids who bonded in Mr. Terupt's fifth-grade class are in eighth grade now and reunited with their beloved teacher.   Beginning with Because of Mr. Terupt, the narrative is told in seven distinct voices.   Jeffrey, Alexia, Anna, Danielle, Luke, Peter, and Jessica still rely on him for guidance on issues in their lives – and now with each other. 

THE LAST MIRROR ON THE LEFT by Lamar Giles  The Legendary Alston brothers from The Last Last-Day-of-Summer are back with another supernatural adventure.  adventure from Edgar-nominated Giles, Otto and Sheed must embark on their most dangerous journey yet, bringing a fugitive to justice in a world that mirrors their own but has its own rules to play by.  Parallel worlds, time travel, feisty caring characters in a fast-paced inventive story.   

YARA’S SPRING by Jamal Saeed  Growing up in East Aleppo, Syria, Yara’s childhood has long been shadowed by the coming revolution. But when the Arab Spring of 2011 finally arrives at Yara’s doorstep, it is worse than even her Nana imagined: sudden, violent, and deadly. We spend time with Yara in a Jordanian refugee camp and her eventual relocation to Canada.  A gripping addition to literature about current refugee experiences. Grades 6-10

THE GIRL GIANT AND THE MONKEY KING by Van Hoang.  Eleven-year-old Thom Ngho is keeping a secret: she’s freakishly strong; making it impossible for her to fit in.  In a desperate bid to get rid of her super strength, Thom makes a deal with the Monkey King, a powerful deity and legendary trickster.  This fantasy explores Vietnamese folklore, culture and universal issues kids face such as trying to fit in when you are different than most everyone else. 

THE BEAST AND THE BETHANY by Jack Meggitt-Phillips  A riotously funny, deliciously macabre, and highly illustrated tale of a hungry beast, a vain immortal man, and a not-so-charming little girl who doesn’t know she’s about to be eaten.  Written in the style British writers such as Roald Dahl and David Walliams do so well. 

FLOODED by Anne E. Burg  A novel in verse voiced by 6 children witnessing and trying to survive the Johnstown Flood of 1889.  This tragic event has remained a fixture in American social historical events. 

GRAPHIC NOVELS

PEA BEE & JAY by Brian Smith  A new graphic novel series for younger readers who like Narwhal & Jelly Like all peas, Pea loves to roll. But along the way, a powerful thunderstorm strikes and bounces Pea off course...and right into two unlikely new friends: Bee, who thinks she knows it all, and Jay, who can’t figure out how to fly.  Simple dialog, word play, bright colors and a page-turning story will entertain emerging readers.

7 GOOD REASONS NOT TO GROW UP by Jimmy Gownley  To his friends at Greycliff Academy, Kirby seems to have it all: charm, brains, and a lucky streak that won't quit. He's also the notorious hero creating the snarky videos "7 Good Reasons Not to Grow Up". But there’s a lot going on behind the teen posturing.  These kids have already begun growing up and we feel for them.  For grades 5+